# Warren County Salary Board Minutes April 14, 2021 1:00 p.m. Commissioners Conference Room

Board Present: Commissioner Benjamin Kafferlin, Commissioner Tricia Durbin, Commissioner Jeff Eggleston and Dennis Munksgard, Treasurer

Staff Present: Pamela J. Matve, Chief Clerk, Kim Exley, H.R. Administrator, Warden Jon Collins, and Lisa Hagberg, Finance Director

Citizens Present: Josh Cotton (WTO)

Commissioner Benjamin Kafferlin called the meeting to order stating the meeting is being recorded.

**Executive Session:** 1:37 - 1:51

### **Approval of Minutes:**

Motion was made by Dennis Munksgard, Treasurer, seconded by Commissioner Jeff Eggleston to approve the minutes from March 10, 2021. Motion carried unanimously.

#### **Old Items:**

Additional PT guard for single point: Commissioner Benjamin Kafferlin stated that this item will remain on Old Items until further notice.

## **New Business:**

Commissioner Benjamin Kafferlin stated that at the next meeting we will discuss/vote on the Deputy Director of Elections, and Deputy Chief Assessor in Tax Assessment. If any of you wish to talk with the Department head to get more information feel free to do so.

Commissioner Tricia Durbin asked why these were not discussed during the budget sessions.

Commissioner Benjamin Kafferlin stated that the Deputy Director of Elections was discussed. The Assessment position is just a vacant position, it is not new. During the COOP trainings it was brought to the forefront that this needs to be filled.

Commissioner Benjamin Kafferlin asked Kim Exley to provide a list of all positions so that we have it at the budget sessions, then we can approve it during the budget.

Commissioner Tricia Durbin asked that all temporary positions be added to that list.

Dennis Munksgard, Treasurer asked if the Deputy Director of Elections was budgeted and Commissioner Jeff Eggleston stated yes, this was prompted by Lisa Rivett, Director of Elections, retirement.

When it was asked why the Assessment position has to come before salary board as it is not a new position, just vacant. Commissioner Benjamin Kafferlin stated that the salary is not set, therefore this board must approve the salary.

**FT Mental Health Specialist:** Warden Jon Collins explained that mental health has always been an issue for years. 50-60% of our inmates are taking mental health drugs. Beacon Light does some staff training, and helps with debriefing when needed.

He then stated that there is a timeline we have to meet to do a mental health evaluation, and we do not meet that. He then stated that during a meeting with our insurance company it was determined that Laura McDunn is not qualified to deem someone come off of suicide watch. That is where a Mental Health Specialist comes in as they would have the qualifications needed.

Warden Jon Collins then stated that with the new medical program with PIMICC, the savings would cover the cost of this person. In the first month PIMICC saved the county \$57,000.00.

Commissioner Benjamin Kafferlin stated that current conditions allow us to cover the cost.

Warden Jon Collins stated he will also talk with Aaron and Carl to see if there are any grants available to help with the costs. Commissioner Benjamin Kafferlin stated that he has already spoken to them and they are researching.

Commissioner Benjamin Kafferlin then stated that this position is worth it on its own merit.

Kim Exley, Employee Relations Administrator stated that what she is recommending is a salary of \$55,000 annually, and it be a non-union exempt position.

Motion was made by Commissioner Jeff Eggleston, seconded by Dennis Munksgard, Treasurer to approve the new Mental Health Specialist position at the jail for a salary of \$55,000.00 per year, non-union, exempt.

Discussions took place with regards to Laura McDunn's rate and duties. Dennis Munksgard, Treasurer then discussed the wage for the new person. Comparing it to other counties that Kim provided he is suggesting the salary be lower.

Commissioner Jeff Eggleston stated he would amend his motion to set the salary to \$50,000.00 per year.

The main motion along with the amendment was called to question, and the Motion carried unanimously.

At this time, we recessed for an executive session.

**Bonuses for Finance and HR personnel:** Motion was made by Commissioner Tricia Durbin, seconded by Commissioner Jeff Eggleston to approve bonuses for Kaylan Miller, and Kim Exley at \$250.00 and Reilly Enlow at \$500.00 for the added responsibilities they have taken on in the absence of a Finance/Administrator Director. Motion carried 3 to 1 with Dennis Munksgard, Treasurer being the no vote.

## Adjournment

Motion was made by Commissioner Tricia Durbin, seconded by Dennis Munksgard, Treasurer to adjourn the. Motion carried unanimously.

Meeting adjourned at 1:53 p.m.

Respectfully,

Pamela J. Matve Chief Clerk

