PSBA Officer Elections: Slate of Candidates

PSBA members seeking election to office for the association were required to submit a nomination form no later than June 1, 2019, to be considered. All candidates who properly completed applications by the deadline are included on the slate of candidates below. In addition, the Leadership Development Committee met on June 15th at PSBA headquarters in Mechanicsburg to interview candidates. According to bylaws, the Leadership Development Committee may determine candidates highly qualified for the office they seek. This is noted next to each person's name with an asterisk (*).

Voting procedure

Each member entity will have one vote for each officer. This will require boards of the various school entities to come to a consensus on each candidate and cast their vote electronically during the open voting period (Aug. 23 - Oct. 11, 2019).

Voting will be accomplished through a secure third-party, web-based voting site that will require a password login. One person from each member entity will be authorized as the official person to register the vote on behalf of his or her entity. In the case of school districts, intermediate units, career and technical centers, it will be the board secretary who will cast votes. In the case of community colleges, the president is designated as the authorized registrar. A full packet of instructions and a printed slate will be sent to authorized vote registrars the week of August 9.

Special note: Boards should be sure to add discussion and voting on candidates to their agenda during one of their meetings in August, September or October before the open voting period ends.

• PSBA Candidates – Frequently asked questions (attached)

Slate of Candidates

President-Elect

• Art Levinowitz*, Upper Dublin School District (Montgomery Co.)

Vice President

• David Hein*, Parkland School District (Lehigh Co.)

Central At Large

• Julie Preston*, Northern Tioga School District (Tioga Co.)

Section 1 Advisor

• Sabrina Backer*, Franklin Area School District (Venango Co.)

Section 3 Advisor

• Ron Cole*, Sayre Area School District (Bradford Co.)

Section 5 Advisor

• Marsha Pleta, Washington School District (Washington Co.)

Section 7 Advisor

• Tricia Steiner*, Derry Township School District (Dauphin Co.)

* The Leadership Development Committee may, by majority vote, determine that one or more candidates for any elected position will be designated on the ballot as a candidate the Leadership Development Committee considers to be highly qualified. (PSBA Bylaws, Section 5 C – Nominations)

PSBA Insurance Trust Trustees

Member entities also are asked to vote for open trustee positions on the PSBA Insurance Trust board. There are currently two seats open and two candidates. A member school entity can vote for up to two individuals. PSBA Insurance Trust provides complimentary travel/accident insurance to all school directors from member school entities while on official school board business. As such, all member entities are considered participants in PSBA Insurance Trust programs and are eligible to vote.

Trustee (term ends Dec. 31, 2023)

Choose up to three candidates for a 3-year term.

- Kathy Swope, Lewisburg Area School District
- Mark B. Miller, Centennial School District

School Board Secretaries Forum

All voting takes place online as part of the PSBA Officers Elections ballot; it is a two-part ballot.

Forum Steering Committee (term ends Dec. 31, 2021)

Choose up to three incumbents for a 2-year term

- Crystal Mance Cheltenham Township School District
- Jaime Lynn Zimerofsky Schuylkill Intermediate Unit 29
- Bethanne Zeigler Shikellamy School District
- Jennifer Davidson Manheim Township School District